Consistency at the quarterback position will be a key storyline among  MAC programs this fall. Nine programs will enter the season with returning starting quarterbacks: Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois), KeithWenning (Ball State), Tyler Tettleton (Ohio), Terrance Owens (Toledo), Matt Schilz (Bowling Green), Tyler Benz (Eastern Michigan), Mike Wegzyn (UMass), Tyler Van Tubbergen (Western Michigan) and Joe Licata (Buffalo).

Three-year starters include: Seniors Keith Wenning (Ball State), Tyler Tettleton (Ohio), Terrance Owens (Toledo) and Matt Schilz (Bowling Green).

Two-year starters include: Seniors Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois) and Tyler Van Tubbergen; junior Tyler Benz (Eastern Michigan) and sophomores Mike Wegzyn (UMass) and Joe Licata (Buffalo).

Only four programs will see a new starter under center -- Akron, Central Michigan, Kent State and Miami.

Akron: Sophomore Kyle Pohl saw action in six games last year and was 38-58 passing for 366 yards, five TDs and two interceptions. Pohl played the majority of the season finale at Toledo and completed 28-of-42 passes for 213 yards and two TDs.

Ball State: Senior Keith Wenning returns for his third year as starter. Last season, Wenning was named Second Team All-MAC and was 301-460 passing, with 3,095 yards and 24 TDs.

Bowling Green: Senior Matt Schilz returns for his third year as starter. Last year Schilz was 228-413 passing, 2,585 yds., 14 TDs.

Buffalo: Sophomore Joe Licata earned the starting duties during spring. Licata appeared in nine games last year, including the final four games when the Bulls finished 3-1, and recorded 86-163 passing, 1,045 yards and seven TDs.

Central Michigan: Junior Cody Kater won the starting duties during training camp as CMU lost three-year starter Ryan Radcliff to graduation. Kater  transferred from Grand Rapids Community College with two years of eligibility remaining.

Eastern Michigan: Redshirt junior Tyler Benz will start his second season for the Eagles. Benz started the final nine games last season and was 114-212 passing for 1,511 yards and 14 TDs.

Kent State: Colin Reardon/David Fisher. Flashes lost three-year starter Spencer Keith to graduation and will turn to redshirt freshman Reardon and the senior Fisher to lead the offense.

UMass: Sophomore Mike Wegzyn will start his second season under center. Wegzyn threw for 1,825 yards, six TDs last year.

Miami: Austin Boucher. The RedHawks lost four-year starter Zac Dysert to graduation and the NFL. Boucher, a senior,  takes over after serving as Dysert’s backup for the last three seasons.

Northern Illinois: Senior Jordan Lynch set school and conference records in his first year as a starter and was named MAC Offensive Player of the Year and First-Team All-MAC. Last season, Lynch was 237-394 passing for 3,138 yards and 25 TDs. He also rushed for 1,815 yards and another 19 TDs.

Ohio: Senior Tyler Tettleton will start his third season as starter. Last season, Tettleton was 228-367 passing, 2,844 yards, 18 TDs.

Toledo: Senior Terrance Owens will mark his second year as full-time starter of the Rockets. Last year, Owens was 215-350 passing, with 2,707 yards and 14 TDs.

Western Michigan: Senior Tyler Van Tubbergen will start his second year as starter. Last year he started six games for injured Alex Carder and was 159-261 passing, for 1,825 yards, six TDs.

-- Courtesy of Mid-American Conference


Comments are closed.